Skip to main content

eBooks and Mobile Options: Finding Library Ebooks

EBooks @ Nassau Community College Library

 Nassau Community College now has three eBook sources, OverDrive for eBooks and Audiobooks,EBSCO eBook Collection and Gale Virtual Reference Library.  For more information about these collections, click on the tabs in this box. 

 The EBSCO eBook collection contains hundreds of academic eBooks available for research and personal growth.  These books may be downloaded or read on the computer.  Printing rules vary by publisher but may be found by checking the DRM link.  Use the EBSCO EBook App to download books to your smartphone or tablet.

Click on the link below to search EBSCO eBooks or click on the Downloading EBSCO Content tab above to learn how to download and use this collection.

  The OverDrive eBook collection contains hundreds of fiction and nonfiction eBooks available for research, reserve reading and personal growth. The collection contains audiobooks as well.  These books may be downloaded or read on the computer.  Printing rules vary by publisher but may be found by checking the DRM link. 

Click on the link below to search OverDrive eBooks or click on the Downloading OverDrive Content tab above to learn how to download and use this collection.

 The Gale Virtual Reference eBook collection contains hundreds of academic reference  eBooks available for research and personal growth.  These books may be downloaded or read on the computer.  Printing rules vary by publisher but may be found by checking the DRM link. 

Click on the link below to search GVRL eBooks or click on the Downloading GaleContent tab above to learn how to download and use this collection.

Loading

Seach NASCAT

You can use NASCAT, our online catalog, to locate print and eBooks that are listed in our catalog. 

 

 To limit to eBooks only, use the advanced search.

Enter your search terms and select Ebooks from the document type drop-down menu.

 

Select the book you wish to view and click the link to access.

Search with Search All

 You can use Search All to discover relevant content including eBooks from EBSCO, Gale or OverDrive all at once. 

There;s a convenient Search all box located on our homepage:

 

To limit your results to eBooks, check the eBooks box and click Update.

 

To locate eBooks from the Gale Virtual Reference Library, check the box on the right side of the results page, uncheck EBSCO Discovery Service, and then click Update.

Search Ebook Databases

You can use the individual database links to locate eBooks.

 

Click on the Database link on the homepage.

 

Select databases starting with the letter E for EBSCO ebooks.

EBSCO eBooks may be read online or downloaded to a device.

Follow the instructions on the Downloading EBSCO eBooks tab.

 

For OverDrive, use the OverDrive link in the  database list.

 

Select databases starting with the letter O.

Click on OverDrive

 Follow the instructions on the Downloading OverDrive Content tab.