BUS 112- Levine: Business Research from Databases

The Library has many resources for research, the most popular of which are our Databases. Below you will find the ones most recommended for Business Research. 

• Business Insights: Essentials

  Research and compare companies and industries using industry rankings, company profiles, market share data, investment reports, charts, graphs, and more.

• Business Source Complete

  Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business as far back as 1986. Includes financial data, books monographs, major reference works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

• Value Line

  ONLY 5 USERS MAY ACCESS THIS DATABASE AT ONE TIME
  Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. From the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks to expert analysis and guidance, Value Line gives you the power to evaluate investments with confidence.

• Entrepreneurial Studies Source

  This database offers users full text for entrepreneurship and small business including periodicals, books, case studies, company profiles and videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.

Business Source Complete provides much information on companies and industries.  Take your time to explore the website and you will find various tools and information important when doing business research.  Of interest to you for this project maybe the SWOT Analyses available through the database.

To find a SWOT analysis in Business Source Complete, select company information from the top of the database:

Enter the name of your company into the search box and hit search. When the results are displayed, you will see a link to the SWOT analysis on the right side of the page.

Using the Business Insights: Essentials Database

Business Insights: Essentials is a database which will help you to find and analyze your research results on a specific business.

Select advanced search:

Type in the name of the company you have selected and use the drop-down list on the right to indicate that it is the company. Then type something such as corporate responsibility and use the drop-down list at the right to indicate that what you have typed is a keyword:

Further down this page, you will have the option to limit to only full text material and to indicate that you would like articles:

Once you are reviewing the results, make sure to pay attention to which items are industry rankings:

and which are articles:

Once you open an article, you will see that you have options at the top of the page for saving, citing, printing, etc.