LibGuides: Communication Studies : Streaming Media

Streaming Media at NCC

Nassau Community College now has three streaming sources, Films on Demand, Kanopy, AVON and Swank. The simplest way to access each of these sources is through the Stream a Video tab on our homepage.

Swank Digital Campus provides films for various courses. Films include classics, documentaries and contemporary selections. All films can be viewed both on and off campus. Browse our current selection of films at Swank.

Films On Demand

Films on Demand (FOD) is one of our streaming media database and includes hundreds of videos on communications.

Browse the Communication Subject Collection and narrow down, or search by keywords in titles and segments.

Here are some examples of communication videos in the FOD database.

Mastering the Art of Information Literacy
This media literacy series teaches students how to critically review information presented and become masters at evaluating information in books, online, in the news, and information generated by AI
What Does It Mean to "Win" an Argument?
How can we argue in good faith? How can we communicate with confidence? How can we uncover new ideas by engaging in debate? Journalist, broadcaster, and best-selling author Mehdi Hasan has made a career out of doing just that. This video will explore how to sharpen those skills and relay the intrinsic value in debate.
Fake Famous
Followers, likes, comments – these are the currencies of fame today. But can the 140 million Instagram users boasting over 100,000 followers all be considered famous? To answer this question, former reporter for the New York Times and Vanity Fair Nick Bilton and a team of social media experts, casting agents, and stylists recruit three starry-eyed Los Angeles transplants to participate in a social experiment designed to turn everyday people with modest online followings into “famous” influencers.

AVON

AVON is another one of our streaming media database and includes hundreds of videos on communication.

Search by keywords or browse communication channels.

Here are some examples of communication videos in the AVON database.

Communicating Across Barriers
Do you find yourself holding back, rather than speaking your mind? Do you let difficult people get the better of you? Does public speaking scare you? This lively series gives you a toolkit of techniques and practical communication skills to survive in the workplace. Giving and receiving feedback is the topic of this edition.
Aphasia: Struggling for Understanding
What if your ability to speak or understand speech was taken away with no warning and you struggled to find words that just won't come? This is what happens to people with aphasia, which occurs when the language centers of the brain are damaged by stroke or brain injury. While it affects more than one million Americans, many people have never heard of it. But there are ways to help aphasics express themselve
Giving and Receiving Criticism
This video contains everything you need to handle even the most difficult conversations with employees. It teaches you the skills you need to handle difficult situations, give and receive feedback, manage tricky conversations, and communicate more effectively.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed