Literary Criticism: Articles & Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Need help using the databases? Try the tutorials below.

 TOP CHOICES FOR ARTICLES, PLOT OVERVIEWS, AUTHOR INFORMATION

Use advanced search to include all terms in your search. Look for full-text. If full-text is not available, click on the "Full-text options" to see if it may be in another database. If not, use Interlibrary Loan to request the item from another library. Check out the box on the right for more information about it. 

If our Library does not have a book or article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

We will borrow the item for you from another library, and notify you when it has arrived. Articles will be sent electronically to your ILLiad account.

 You are responsible for bringing all ILL books back to the NCC Library on or before the due date.

To request an item online, create an ILLiad account and follow the instructions on the ILLiad Login page.

General or multidisciplinary databases provide articles on many different subjects. Often, they have reviews, some literary criticism or articles about a topic.