| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Music: Find Articles
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate these materials.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
NY Philharmonic
Bass
Databases
The following databases will help you locate articles on a variety of music topics. They can be accessed from off-campus using your N# and portal password.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
- Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Music Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
Citations from the Databases
Citations in the Databases
Most of the databases now provide citations for articles. You must locate the tools box and look for the link to cite or citation tools.
Once you click on the link, you will be given several choices. Select MLA or APA and then choose Save. Next, choose Open to see the citation. Copy and paste this citation into your works cited page. Make sure it is correct. All words in the title of the article must be capitalized. Once you have all your citations, make sure they are in alphabetical order by the authors' last names.
This is the tool box for all EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete and Humanities International. Once you click on the Cite link, you will be given all possible citation formats for the article. Select MLA or APA. Copy and paste the citation into your works cited page. Be sure to check that titles are capitalized and formats are correct.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
