LibGuides: BIO 101: Prof. Tuaillon's Classes: Articles/Databases

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Videos from Films On Demand

The following streaming videos are available through our Films On Demand database.

Celiac Disease (05:30)
more...less...
Celiac disease is a disorder of the auto-immune system that is aggravated by malnutrition. This primarily genetic disorder can be managed by correct food choices and a gluten-free diet.
Diagnosing and Treating Cystic Fibrosis (21:00)
more...less...
Divided into four segments, this program examines the presentation, diagnostic testing, treatment, and biochemistry of cystic fibrosis. Topics explored include chronic health problems associated with CF, the analysis of mutated genes through DNA sampling, the combined use of medication and physiotherapy to reduce damage, and the vital role of transmembrane regulators in passing chloride ions and water across cell membranes in the lungs. Computer graphics and endoscopic imagery enhance this informative educational resource.
HIV and AIDS
more...less...
The AIDS virus destroys the immune systems of its victims. Long-term AIDS survivors have "unusual" immune systems that can control the virus with suppressor T cells.
The Endocrine System (21:00)
more...less...
After an introductory segment contrasting the human endocrine and nervous systems, this program addresses the complex physiology of the endocrine system. Topics include the endocrine organs and glands; the characteristics of hormones and the process of signal transduction; hormonal regulation of blood glucose and blood calcium levels; the roles of growth hormone, thyroid hormone, testosterone, and estrogen in bodily development; hormones and reproduction; and hormonal involvement in the fight-or-flight response. A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Films for the Humanities & Sciences Production. A part of the series The Human Body: How It Works.
Ulcers and GERD (28:00)
more...less...
Frequent indigestion and heartburn may indicate a precancerous digestive illness called GERD, or gastroesophageal reflux disease. This program describes the symptoms, effects, and medical treatment of GERD, while also exploring another digestion-related condition, the peptic ulcer. Explaining the link between ulcers and the H. pylori stomach bacterium, the video clearly describes the best medical strategies for coping with ulcers and GERD; it also reinforces the need to seek medical attention when symptoms appear regularly. Case studies and anecdotal commentary from patients provide additional medical insight.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
This is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 7,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics. See the box on the lower right-side of the page for examples.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Informational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. There are also abstracts and indexing for nearly 650 journals.
Magill's Medical Guide This link opens in a new window
This guide covers diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full-Text coverage for more than 1,470 medical journals dating back to 1965.
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
The journal contains landmark research in all areas of medicine. Charts, graph and illustrations are included. Search current issue or past issues dating back to 1993.
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Access to full text documents, covering diseases & conditions, labs & diagnostics, as well as drug & reference information; it also includes best practices guidelines, continuing education modules, and patient education information.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.

From flickr

Dr. Schreiber of San Augustine giving a typhoid innoculation at a rural school, San Augustine County, Texas.

Vachon, John,, 1914-1975, photographer.

from flickr

Databases from Home

You can use the databases from home!
Click on the database link.

When prompted, enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).

Search for the articles as directed on this page!

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed