| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Databases by Subject: Legal Studies
Top Databases for Legal Studies
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
- Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
More Databases for Legal Studies
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
- Gale OneFile: News (formerly Newsstand) This link opens in a new windowThis full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in sociology and related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books and dissertations.
Databases from Home
You can use the databases from home!
Click on the database link.
When prompted, enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).
Faculty use your Computer ID Username and Password.
Need Case Law?
You can get access to Westlaw in the Library only. Speak to a librarian at the desk!
No Full Text? What's Next!
Sometimes an article is not available in full text in the database. You may have an abstract (summary) or just a citation. If you cannot find another article, or you feel that this article is best suited for your research, you have a few options.
If you see, "Full Text Finder" click on the link to retrieve the article from another database.
The article might be available in our print collections. If the full-text link says the article is available in print, you must fill out a request slip and go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. Once you have the article, you can make a photocopy for your assignment.
If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary loan" option.
By selecting this link you will be able to get this article sent to you through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to sign in with your N# and Portal Password.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
