| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | Closed | |
| Saturday | 12:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Databases by Subject: Nursing
Top Databases for Nursing
-
American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text articles from the American Journal of Nursing from 1996 to present
-
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
-
Clinical Nurse Specialist This link opens in a new windowThis journal addresses the practice of clinical nurse specialists in diagnosis and treatment.
-
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowInformational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
-
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. There are also abstracts and indexing for nearly 650 journals.
-
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage from 1998 to current issues. ONLY access to The Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA).
-
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-Text coverage for more than 1,470 medical journals dating back to 1965.
-
Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text documents, covering diseases & conditions, labs & diagnostics, as well as drug & reference information; it also includes best practices guidelines, continuing education modules, and patient education information.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
-
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowStat!Ref is a collection of medical-nursing and allied health ebooks. It includes Board Vitals, a bank of test questions for the NCLEX.
More Databases for Nursing
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
-
Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
-
General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
-
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowInformational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
-
Magill's Medical Guide This link opens in a new windowThe Guide provides general readers with an authoritative reference source that helps bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides.
-
New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowThe journal contains landmark research in all areas of medicine. Charts, graph and illustrations are included. Search current issue or past issues dating back to 1993.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
Databases from Home
You can use the databases from home!
Click on the database link.
When prompted, enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).
Faculty use your Computer ID Username and Password.
What is Peer Reviewed?
What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal?
Scholarly or peer-reviewed journals include articles that have been written by specialists in the field and reviewed by specialists before they are accepted for publication. You can limit your search to a peer-reviewed article when you are using a Library database such as CINAHL.
Peer Reviewed Evidence Based Practice Articles in CINAHL
If you need peer reviewed articles that reflect evidence-based practice, limit your search in CINAHL to both conditions.
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
