| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
NCC 101: "The Warrior's Heart" Assignment: Finding Magazine Articles
Finding Magazine Articles
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources. The library subscribes to many excellent databases you can search to locate articles for your library project.
Select one of the databases listed below to locate a magazine article. All of the resources in these databases come from reliable publications. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
All articles may be printed, emailed or saved on a flash drive.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis database has articles in magazines, newspapers and journals. To limit to magazine articles and to pick a specific date range, use the limiters on the left column after your search and then click Update.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. To limit your results, make sure you indicate that you want magazine articles only. You can do this from the initial search screen or from the column to the left of your article results.
- Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
- LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books. To limit to magazine articles and to pick a specific date range, use the limiters on the left column after your search and then click Update.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship and more. Magazine articles will be listed separately, so make sure you are looking at the correct type of articles.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in sociology and related fields. To limit to magazine articles and to pick a specific date range, use the limiters on the left column after your search and then click Update.
What is a Magazine Article?
Popular magazines have these qualities:
- Magazines have glossy pages, photos and advertisements.
- Articles are written in a style that everyone can understand.
- Articles are usually 1-5 pages.
- Material in the articles is reliable and accurate because is is checked by editors and fact-checkers.
- Writers are journalists who may focus on a subject or may cover many areas.
Some useful magazines for current topics include,
- Time
- Newsweek
- US News & World Report
- The Nation
Magazines for business include,
- Forbes
- INC
- Fortune
- Money
Other popular magazines include,
- Sports Illustrated
- Latina
- Essence
- Psychology Today
How to search and Limit Results
To help narrow your search do an Advanced Search. Click on Advanced Search. Enter your keywords. The database will look for articles that contain all of your key words.
Here is an example from Academic Search Complete:
Your results will include articles from magazines, newspapers and journals. To limit your results to magazine articles only, use the limit box on the left of the screen. Check Magazines and then click update. The remaining results will all be magazine articles.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
