| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
ENG 204 OLA: Prof. Anzelone's Classes: Databases
Getting Books and Articles from Other Libraries
If our Library does not have a book or article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
We will borrow the item for you from another library, and notify you when it has arrived. Articles will be sent electronically to your ILLiad account.
You are responsible for bringing all ILL books back to the NCC Library on or before the due date.
To request an item online, create an ILLiad account and follow the instructions on the ILLiad Login page.
Literature Databases
TOP CHOICES FOR ARTICLES, PLOT OVERVIEWS, AUTHOR INFORMATION
Use advanced search to include all terms in your search. Look for full-text. If full-text is not available, click on the "Full-text options" to see if it may be in another database. If not, use Interlibrary Loan to request the item from another library. Check out the box on the right for more information about it.
- Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of Harold Bloom’s essays examining the lives and works of great writers throughout history and the world, and thousands of critical articles published by noted scholars under the Bloom’s Literary Criticism imprint.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowDictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Gale Literature (formerly Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowSearch Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series and Lit Finder through this one interface.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new windowProvides literary criticism from essays, books and articles in pdf format.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIn the search screen, select "name of work" to focus on a certain title.
- MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new windowDefinitive online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries and information on over 1,500 notable authors.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
- Twayne's Authors Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
General Databases
General or multidisciplinary databases provide articles on many different subjects. Often, they have reviews, some literary criticism or articles about a topic.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
