Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Surgical Technology Program: Special Features in Databases

STAT!Ref

STAT!Ref includes Stedman's Medical Dictionary, Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, MedCalc 3000, a unique computerized medical reference and tool set, Evidence Alerts, Medical News Feeds  and Nursing Podcasts.

STAT!Ref is part of a consortial agreement that allows 20 simultaneous users across 15 SUNY Community Colleges.

Personal Folder Instructions

Most databases now offer personal accounts.  These allow users to save and retrieve articles remotely, save search histories, create alerts, organize favorite articles and share with others.

The links below provide information for individual databases.

CINAHL

 

 

 

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied  Health Literature) includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and images. Create a user login and you can save material in personal folders for later use.

 

Nursing Reference Center

The Nursing Reference Center includes an online library of searchable books in digital format. These include Taber's, Davis's Drug Guide and others shown below.

 Click on the Practice Resources tab in the Nursing Resource Center database to access each book.

 

 The database also has information on diseases, skills and procedures, drug information, patient education sheets with diagrams, practice resources and continuing education lessons. As with all EBSCO databases, you may use your personal folders to save information for later use.