Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art 102: Prof. Guest's Patronage Project: Articles/Databases

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

What are Primary Sources?

A primary source is a document or other sort of evidence written or created during the time under study, or by one of the persons or organizations directly involved in the event. Primary sources offer an inside view of a particular event.

Some types are: original documents (letters, autobiographies, etc.), creative works (art, poetry, etc.), Artifacts (pottery, tools, etc.)

Databases such as ARTstor, History in Context & The Historical New York Times contain primary sources.

Want to learn more about primary vs. secondary sources? Check out this tutorial.

 

Databases

The following databases may be especially helpful with this project but you can also use our  complete list of databases: