| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
ENG 102: Prof. Ballerini's Class: Articles/Databases
What is a Database?
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Databases from Home
You can access the databases from home! When you click on the database link, you will be prompted to enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).
Databases
The following databases are the best choices for finding literary criticism:
- Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database: hundreds of streaming videos and more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, and 5,000 synopses of literary works.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowDictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Gale Literature (formerly Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowSearch Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series and Lit Finder through this one interface.
- Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new windowThese online literature criticism reference books will provide criticism of books, poetry and short stories. These criticisms have been gathered from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
- MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new windowDefinitive online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries and information on over 1,500 notable authors.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
General Databases
General or multidisciplinary databases provide articles on many different subjects. Often, they have reviews, some literary criticism or articles about a topic.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
