| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Medical Laboratory Technician (MLT) Program: MLT Research Using the Library Databases
What is a database?
Electronic databases are a collection of data, or information, specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer. NCC's provides several for student and faculty use. Listed here are a few related to the sciences. For a complete listing of NCC's database, click here.
If you are logging in from off-campus, please note that you will need your N# and password.
Databases are ideal for searching the journal literature because:
- They include hundreds of journals, so you search through thousands of articles at once.
- Some databases are general or interdisciplinary and provide broad coverage of many topics, while others are subject-specific and cover one field in-depth.
- Databases vary in content and may include more than just journal articles; conference proceedings, book chapters, theses, or technical reports may also be covered.
- Article databases cover differing periods of time, so check date ranges.
Allied Health Science & Medical Laboratory Technology Related Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-Text coverage for more than 1,470 medical journals dating back to 1965.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowInformational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowThe journal contains landmark research in all areas of medicine. Charts, graph and illustrations are included. Search current issue or past issues dating back to 1993.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. There are also abstracts and indexing for nearly 650 journals.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text.
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
