Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Advanced Research: New York Public Library

Online Resources @ NYPL

Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge.

See all the resources available without ever stepping into a physical Library!

How to Get a Card

Adult and teen users may either apply online or in person at any New York Public Library location or Library-sponsored event. Applications for children ages 11 and under must be completed in person, and require the signature of a parent or guardian.

When you apply for a card online, you will receive a 7-digit temporary barcode.

Databases Available from Home

The NYPL has access to many databases that are not available through the NCC Library. You may visit a branch, or limit your search to a subject and to databases available at home with a card.

Here are some of the databases you might want to check out!

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry: Poetry, criticism, commentary, biography

Credo Reference Online full-text  of reference book collections

Mango Languages: Interactive language learning

Morningstar Investment Research CenterFinancial info and reports 

Oxford Art Online: Oxford Art Reference including Grove Dictionary of Art

Oxford English Dictionary: The online version of the OED

Oxford Music Online Grove Music Online,The Oxford Dictionary of Music  

Sociological AbstractsAbstracts of international literature in sociology

 

Other Great Resources from NYPL

Through the NYPL, card holders have access to these excellent resources.

 

E-books, Audiobooks & Digital Images

Online Exhibitions

Digital Projects

Freegal Music