LibGuides: Reading Project Help: Finding Articles

What Is This?

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Using Databases

The library subscribes to many databases you can search to locate articles for your library project.

Each database listed will provide full-text articles from magazines, scholarly journals and magazines. If an article is not available in full-text, try the full-text options link to locate it in another database. All articles may be printed, emailed or saved on a flash drive. Most of the databases also provide "My Folder" options that allow you to save your articles for future use. Check it out!!

Click on the links below to get to the database you wish to use. Use the keywords you identified when you were selecting our topic. Connect those keywords with AND to find articles that contain both keywords. For example, to find articles about the use of steroids among athletes, enter the search three words: athletes and steroids.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This database has articles in magazines, newspapers and journals. To limit to just magazines or just newspapers and to pick a specific date range, use the limiters on the left column after your search and then click Update. Use the advanced search feature to limit your search or use the suggested subject headings on the left of your search results.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
This general database covers most subjects. Tabs at the top of your search results allow you to limit to magazines, journals or newspapers. You can limit to a certain date range when you do your search. Use the subject search and then click on the +for narrower subheadings or use the keyword search and connect your terms with AND, OR, NOT .
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Use the Issues tab to locate a topic. Looks through the articles to narrow your search. Click on View All in the magazines or news boxes to see all that is available.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays and articles that present multiple sides of a current issue.

Databases A-Z
This is the link to all of our databases, listed alphabetically. If you cannot find an article in one the the databases above, try another one from the list that best relates to your topic.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	Closed
Saturday	12:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed