| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Nursing 101: Databases and Articles
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Print, Save or Email
All databases have tools for printing, emailing and saving articles.
Look for the icons on the page.
Interlibrary Loan
If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" option. Click on the link.
Login to your ILLiad Account. If you do not have one, follow the instructions on the page.
- Nassau Community College Interlibrary LoanThis is the interlibrary loan system for the Nassau Community College Library.
Use ILLiad to request materials from other libraries, view your requests, and access electronic articles that you have requested.
Related Databases
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in sociology and related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books and dissertations.
Nursing and Health Databases
If you need an article on a specific topic within a Concept Map, use one of these databases. Search by subject or keywords.
- American Journal of Clinical Nutrition This link opens in a new windowThe most highly rated peer-reviewed journal in the Institute for Scientific Information's nutrition and dietetics category with online archives from 1959 to the present.
- American Journal of Nursing This link opens in a new windowThis database contains full text articles from the American Journal of Nursing from 1996 to present.
New! Now Online. - BoardVitals This link opens in a new windowBoardVitals helps practitioners prepare for licensing and initial certification exams, maintenance of certification (MOC) requirements, and continuing professional education, covering more than 50 specialty areas and exams. New Users: Click on Create An Account, please note you must use NCC email address when you sign up.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
- Clinical Nurse Specialist This link opens in a new windowThis journal addresses the practice of clinical nurse specialists in diagnosis and treatment.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowMulti-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowContains evidence-based care sheets.
- Internurse This link opens in a new windowInternurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-Text coverage for more than 1,470 medical journals dating back to 1965.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowIncludes diseases and conditions, skills and procedures, drug information, patient education sheets, practice resources and continuing education.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowStat!Ref is a collection of medical-nursing and allied health ebooks. It includes Board Vitals, a bank of test questions for the NCLEX.
- Visible BodyProvides 3D visual and interactive content of the human body. Available through NCC Portal only.
No Full Text? What's Next!
Sometimes an article is not available in full text in the database. You may have an abstract (summary) or just a citation. If you cannot find another article, or you feel that this article is best suited for your research, you have a few options.
If you see, "Full Text Finder" click on the link to retrieve the article from another database.
The article might be available in our print collections. If the full-text link says the article is available in print, you must fill out a request slip and go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. Once you have the article, you can make a photocopy for your assignment.
If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary loan" option.
By selecting this link you will be able to get this article sent to you through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to sign in with your N# and Portal Password.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
