| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Art & Art History Resources: Articles
Getting Started:
You will find that tracking down information on Art & Art History involves trying out a variety of databases. You may want to begin your research by searching the databases for general information on your topic, but eventually, you should narrow down your topic in order to find the best results.
For Example: When beginning research on a topic, such as Italian Renaissance Art, it will be useful to begin your search just using your topic as the keywords. So you may wish to look in the Project Muse database for articles using "Italian Renaissance Art" as your keywords. Once you have gained a better understanding of the topic and have reviewed the assignment given to you by your professor, you should narrow it down to a particular artist from the Italian Renaissance, a particular political/cultural event that took place during the Italian Renaissance, a specific work of art that was created during the Italian Renaissance, etc.
Creating a user account is NOT necessary in order to use the databases. Creating an account will allow you to access additional features to save, create and share images or articles.
What is a Database?
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Gustave Caillebotte
Click on the link below to view the article Gustave Caillebotte: Impressions Of A Changing Paris by Susan Stamberg, featured on NPR June 3, 2011:
Art Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess to collections of art images and associated data for educational use. (Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
- Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on archaeological traditions of the world and is modeled after eHRAF World Cultures. eHRAF is unique because each archaeological tradition contains a variety of documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF’s comprehensive tradition and subject classification systems: the Outline of Archaeological Traditions (OAT), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). These retrieval systems extend search capability well beyond keyword searching thus allowing for precise tradition and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. The eHRAF Archaeology database provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions.
Print, Email, Save
All databases have tools for printing, emailing and saving articles.
Look for the icons on the page.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
