LibGuides: Public Speaking: Articles

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Databases

Depending on your speech topic, you could use a variety of NCC databases that cover polling, news, background information and more. Look at the descriptions below to see which one fits your topic. Not Sure? Try searching for databases by subject.

A to Z World This link opens in a new window
A to Z World provides detailed country profiles containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 200 countries and territories.
Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Britannica's consolidated search makes it easy to find the content you need. With a single search, choose from a variety of content types including: articles, high-quality images and videos, Merriam-Webster dictionary entries, periodicals, and primary source texts.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Gale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
History Reference Works This link opens in a new window
This database contains information from various reference books: Fifties, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties and Nineties in American; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals, The Middle Ages, Renaissance and The Ancient World; and Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century; Milestone Documents: African American History, American History and World HIstory.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue, such as: cloning, immigration, aids.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Issues & Controversies covers hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. It provides thousands of editorials and opinions that are updated weekly. With in-depth articles presenting both sides of issues as well as key facts, arguments, history, and current context of today’s issues.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature in sociology and related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books and dissertations.

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
This database provides polling data that is especially useful in pro/con discussions, debates, presentations and reports.It provides up to date information on various topics including government, law, religion, climate change and more.

Gale OneFile: News (formerly Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
This full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Newsday This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news from 1985-present.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
New York Times This link opens in a new window

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed