LibGuides: SOC 201: Prof. Wood's Classes: Using Databases

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books.

Here are some suggested databases for sociology research.

You can also browse the full list of databases.

Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides access to literature in sociology and related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books and dissertations.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Over 5,000 streaming videos on a huge variety of topics. See box below "From Films On Demand" for an example.
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Contains LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
Religion and Philosophy (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Discover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed