Distance Education/Online Learners: Streaming Media

Online Videos

YouTube and Google have millions of videos of varying quality.

Search for videos from good sources.

Use the URL given to link or the embed code to embed the video itself.

Videos may be embedded into a PowerPoint presentation. The box below is an example of an embedded video.

Khan Academy has thousands of tutorial videos on many subjects. All are free.

Streaming Media at NCC

Nassau Community College now has three streaming sources, Films on Demand, Kanopy and Swank. The simplest way to access each of these sources is through the Stream a Video tab on our homepage.

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video collection from producers such as Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, PBS and more.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus is a streaming feature film collection.

News Videos

Major television networks and smaller stations offer streaming video.

ABC has clips from Nightline, 20/20, World News Now and more.

CBS has clips from 60 Minutes, Face the Nation, 48 Hours and more.

NBC has clips from Nightly News, Dateline NBC, Meet the Press and more.

Streaming Media from Other Databases

Many Library databases include video, audio and image content. Do your search and then look in the results options for media.

General OneFile This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed