Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Animal Studies: Articles/Databases

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate material on the subject  of your research.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professor. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Keyword Searching

For best results, use keywords related to your topic.

Combine terms with AND to narrow your search.

Ex. Animals and therapy will find articles with both terms.

Combine terms with OR to broaden the search.

Ex. Ethology or animal behavior with find articles with either term.

Use NOT to eliminate unwanted terms.

Ex. Animals and therapy not physical will find articles about animal therapy that is not physical therapy.

 

Databases for Articles/Videos on HAS

The Library subscribes to many databases. Some contain a variety of source types.  Others focus on scholary journals only. Many are multidisciplinary and cover a wide range of subjects, while others are subject-specific. Depending on the focus of your research, you may want to search several databases. Use keywords, authors in the field or subjects related to your topic.

Does the Library Have the Article I Need?

Sometimes you may find a citation or reference to an article.

To see if we have the article, jot down the journal title, volume #, date and pages.

Use our Holdings link to search for the journal. If it is available in one of our databases, it will show up on the results list.

Then, just search by date and volume number for the issue you need.

If it is not listed, check your options on the Materials from Other Libraries tab.

When to Use Google

Google Scholar is another way to locate academically sound material. Google Scholar eliminates general websites in the results.

If you find something you would like to use that is not available in full-text, see if we own it or use our Interlibrary Loan service.

Never pay for an article; that's why we have libraries!

Google Scholar Search