LibGuides: BIO 102: Prof. Tuaillon's Classes: Articles/Databases

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
This is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Informational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Covers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.

New York State Conservationist

Newest issues and announcements from The New York State Conservationalist:

Databases from Home

You can use the databases from home!
Click on the database link.

When prompted, enter your username (N #) and password (PIN).

Search for the articles as directed on this page!

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed