| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
ART 202: Prof. Guest's Patronage Project: Find Articles/Databases
What are Primary Sources?
A primary source is a document or other sort of evidence written or created during the time under study, or by one of the persons or organizations directly involved in the event. Primary sources offer an inside view of a particular event.
Some types are: original documents (letters, autobiographies, etc.), creative works (art, poetry, etc.), Artifacts (pottery, tools, etc.)
Databases such as ARTstor, History in Context & The Historical New York Times contain primary sources.
Want to learn more about primary vs. secondary sources? Check out this tutorial.
Finding Articles in a Database
A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.The following databases may be especially helpful with this project but you can also use our A-Z list of databases:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess to collections of art images and associated data for educational use. (Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.)
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 5,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
*See examples in the films tab above - Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
- Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
- Religion and Philosophy (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDiscover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
Background information on your time period is always useful:
- Baroque PeriodFrom World History in Context: World
- ExistentialismFrom World History in Context: World
- ModernismFrom World History in Context: World
- RealismFrom World History in Context: World
- RenaissanceFrom World History in Context: World
- RomanticismFrom World History in Context: World
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
