| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Food Films: Articles/Reviews/Databases
What is a Database?
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate information about the topic you are researching.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
To use Library databases from home, you will need your NCC N# and PIN.
No Full Text? What's Next!
Sometimes an article is not available in full text in the database. You may have an abstract (summary) or just a citation. If you cannot find another article, or you feel that this article is best suited for your research, you have a few options.
If you see, "Full Text Finder" click on the link to retrieve the article from another database.
The article might be available in our print collections. If the full-text link says the article is available in print, you must fill out a request slip and go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. Once you have the article, you can make a photocopy for your assignment.
If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary loan" option.
By selecting this link you will be able to get this article sent to you through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to sign in with your N# and Portal Password.
Best Databases for Film Reviews
There are several ways to find good articles and reviews.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowAdvanced Search: title AND review.
EX. Pulp Fiction and review.
Advanced Search: Title and (movie or motion picture)
EX. Pulp Fiction and (movie or motion picture) - General OneFile This link opens in a new windowSearch:Title of the film, then limit the search by typing the term "movie review"
or Title (Motion Picture). - Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowSearch:Title and reviews or title (Motion Picture).
Search:Title and (movie or motion picture) - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch: Title AND movie reviews.
EX. Julie & Julia and movie reviews.
Search All
Search all our resources at once! Find books, articles, reviews from all our databases and catalog.
Use the box below, or click on this Advanced Search link for more options
Best Databases for Scholarly Analysis
- Gale Literature (formerly Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowSearch Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series and Lit Finder through this one interface.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
Specific Articles on Food in Film
A general article on food in film may help you with your project. Relate the concepts mentioned to the movie you are analyzing.
- Dinner and a Movie by Cynthia BaronScholars have shown that food is integrated into films' mise en scène and narrative design in ways that shape viewers' perception of the characters and their interactions, the social dynamics explored in a film, and the ideological perspectives conveyed by a film.
- Visiting the Mexican American Family: Tortilla Soup as Culinary TourismCommunication and Critical/Cultural Studies
Volume 4, Issue 3, 2007
This must be requested on Interlibrary Loan. - The Mediator as Cook: Mediation Metaphors at the Movies"Chocolat, Soul Food, and Mostly Martha demonstrate that the metaphor of the mediator as cook, taking pleasure in her or his work, resonates in popular culture."
- Ethnic Food Fetishism, Whiteness, and Nostalgia in RecentFilm and TelevisionThis essay investigates the way in which the preparation and consumption of food are centralized in many recent media projections of ethnic identity.
- Feast Your Eyes on ThisThe article explores culinary themes in motion pictures and cinematic depictions of eating, cooking, and food preparation. The author notes films such as "The Gold Rush" starring Charlie Chaplin, "Chef" starring Jon Favreau, and "The Hundred-Foot Journey" starring Helen Mirren. Other topics include cooks and chefs as characters, dinner theater, and documentary films such as "How to Cook Your Life."
- Food, Feelings and FilmThis paper uses the Mexican film Like Water for Chocolate (1991) to address the question of how women can use food as a path to power.
- Fast Zombie/Slow Zombie: Food Writing, Horror Movies, and Agribusiness ApocalypseThe article presents film criticism of several zombie films, including "28 Days Later" directed by Danny Boyle, "Dawn of the Dead" directed by Zack Snyder, and "Shaun of the Dead" directed by Edgar Wright. It looks at the roles of food and the food industry in zombie films. It is suggested that while food writers and environmental advocates imagine an idealized return to the consumption of so-called natural foods, these films suggest the inescapable cultural and economic aspects of food.
- Rot's Progress: Gastronomy according to Peter GreenawayThe writer argues that criticism blunders in assuming gastronomy as a theme in Peter Greenway's film The Cook, the Thief, His Wife, and Her Lover (1989), and instead claims that gastronomy is the film's form. Greenway's film revolves around the kitchen and the dining room of an elegant French restaurant.
Does the Library Have the Article I Need?
Sometimes you may find a citation or reference to an article.
To see if we have the article, jot down the journal title, volume #, date and pages.
Use our Holdings link to search for the journal. If it is available in one of our databases, it will show up on the results list.
Then, just search by date and volume number for the issue you need.
Note: All articles in the magazine, Sight and Sound, 2001-present are available in print. Follow the instructions in the box below.
Print Articles
Some of the articles listed in the databases are only available in print in the Library. You can still get access to the article. Fill out a periodical request slip that includes all the required information. Bring the slip and your NCC ID to Room L 102 on the first floor. You may photocopy the article or use it in the building.
Google Scholar
Search for material about your selected film. If you locate an article that is not full-text, use the Interlibrary Loan form link to get a copy.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
