| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
ENG 232: Prof. Kaebnick's Classes: Articles
What is a Database?
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the column to the left in order to locate articles.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Additional Databases
- Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database: hundreds of streaming videos and more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, and 5,000 synopses of literary works.
- Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new windowThese online literature criticism reference books will provide criticism of books, poetry and short stories. These criticisms have been gathered from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences I Current Collection This link opens in a new windowElectronic access to back issues of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Top Databases for Children's Literature
The top databases for journals on children's literature:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents.
Contains journals such as: Booklist 2002-present, School Library Journal 1974-present, Kirkus reviews 2001-present, Horn Book Magazine 1990-present, Children's Literature in Education 1993-present, Library Journal 1976-present, etc. - Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
Contains journals such as: Booklist 1993-present, Horn Book 1993-present, Horn Book Guide to Children's and Young Adult Books 2010-present, New York Times Book Review 2001-present, Canadian Children's Book News 2006-present, Library Journal 1997-present, etc. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
Online Journals
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
