| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
ART 103: Prof. Guest's Patronage Project: Tips for searching databases
Searching Using Geography
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess to collections of art images and associated data for educational use. (Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.)
Some databases make searching by geography especially easy to do:
ARTstor allows users to search by place and type of item. So users can easily locate maps of specific countries during specific time periods.
History in Context: World allows users to browse for articles by country, culture, events, periods, wars, etc.
- Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
Searching for Artists
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
When searching the databases for a specific artist, you should enter the last name first. Also use the advanced search option, if it's available.
An advanced search gives users more search boxes and search options. The example below is from Academic Search Complete.
Other databases, such as Project Muse, are set up differently. Project Muse does not give users an advanced search option on the homepage.
However, you can search using your artist's name (last name first) such as "Picasso, Pablo"
and then modify your search to include additional terms, such as studio.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
