Skip to Main Content

ENG 102: Prof. Anzelone's Classes: MLA Citations from Databases

Citation Generators in Databases

Many of the databases have built-in citation makers. Select the link and then choose the format, MLA or APA.  Be sure to check the citation to make sure everything is correct. Sometimes the databases return citations with errors.

The boxes below demonstrate where to find the citation generators in most databases and how to format them in Word. 

 

Citations from the Databases

Most of the databases now provide citations for articles. You must locate the tools box and look for the link to cite or citation tools. This image from Gale databases such as  General Onefile/ Academic Onefile shows the link for Cite.

undefined

This is the tool box for all EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete and Humanities International. Once you click on the Cite link, you will be given all possible citation formats for the article. Select MLA edition. Copy and paste the citation into your works cited page. Be sure to check that titles are capitalized and formats are correct.

 If you are using a Proquest database such as Newsday or Historical New York Times, click on the cite link in the tool menu above the article.

Always be sure to select the latest MLA (or the MLA edition required for your assignment) edition version of the citations you are using!

CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly also generate citations for you.  Click on the Cite Now! link and then select MLA from the choices.

 

Works Cited Page

To create a Works Cited page using citations from the databases, open a new document in MS Word.

Type Works Cited at the top of the page in the font and size you are using for the paper. Copy and paste the citation created in the database.

Select "match destination formatting" from the paste icon.

If you are using MS Word 2010, select "Merge Formatting" from the paste icon.

Correct any inaccuracies, such as capitalization of title words.

As you add citations to the page, reorder the citations alphabetically.

Copy and paste this document to your paper.

Always save your work!

Databases With no Citation Generator

Some databases will give you general form information for citations, but will not create specific ones for you. Follow the instructions  if given or go to the citation generator tab for more information.

This database does not create specific citations:

Science Direct

MLA Citation Help

Are you using another person's ideas or quoting from the original work itself?

  • Both are great ways to make your points.
  • Both require giving credit to the author. 

Use in-text notation after a quote or paraphrase.

List the author and work on your Works Cited page.

Check the MLA handout and the links below. 

KnightCite Citation Generator from Calvin College Library

EasyBib Citation Generator

NCC Writing Center

Purdue University Online Writing Lab MLA Formats