Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MDC 110: Professor Katwala's Classes: Databases

What is a Database?

See full size imageA Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate information about the company you are researching.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Advanced Search and Narrowing Results

To help narrow your search do an Advanced Search. Click on Advanced Search. Enter your keywords using the AND connector. The database will look for articles that contain both of your key words.

Here is an example from Academic Search Complete:

Your results will include articles from magazines, newspapers and journals. To limit your results, use the limit box on the left of the screen. Check magazines, for instance and then click update.  The remaining results will be magazine articles.

Select an article that addresses your research question and includes five points about your topic.

Using Search All

Search All is a search tool that allows you to find all the resources available at the Library. That includes books, ebooks, videos, articles, and news.

 If an item is not accessible here, you can request an item on Interlibrary Loan

This is what the Search All box looks like on the Library homepage

 Click on the image to get to Search All.

 

So how does Search All work?

Enter your search terms in the box.

Browse the results.

Limit your results to a particular format, such as magazines, journals or books. 

Limit your results to a date range. 

Do an advanced search for more specific results. 

Select the items that suit your needs.

 -Articles may be printed, emailed or saved.

-Ebooks may be read online or downloaded for later use.

-Books may be checked out and taken home. 

 

Top Databases