| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Famous Female Italian-Americans in Sports: Articles/Databases
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
- Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
- Gale OneFile: News (formerly Newsstand) This link opens in a new windowThis full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Articles
- Gender Equity in SportsArticle written by Donna Lopiano
- Mary Lou RettonBiography.
- Jennifer CapriatiProfiles tennis player Jennifer Capriati.
- Caponi Elected to LPGA Hall of FameDonna Caponi got the validation Wednesday from what she always believed was a Hall of Fame career on the LPGA Tour. Caponi, whose 24 victories and four major championships fell short of the toughest Hall of Fame standards in sports, was elected through the Veteran's Committee and will be inducted as the 19th member from the LPGA Tour.
- Angela Ruggiero: HockeyThe article focuses on Angela Ruggiero, defenseman for the U.S. women's hockey team. It is suggested that it is inevitable that the United States team will face the Canadian's women's team for the gold medal in the 2006 Winter Olympics in Turin, Italy. The article includes comments from Ruggiero regarding the forthcoming event.
- A Match Made In Heaven : Kindred spirits and fellow Italians Geno Auriemma and Diana Taurasi have taken UConn to new heights.This article focuses on the working relationship between Diana Taurasi and her coach.
- Goofy turns Rocky in Disney ice show.Olympic silver medalist Linda Fratianne might have top billing in Walt Disney's Magic Kingdom on Ice, which continues its run at Maple Leaf Gardens until Oct. 6, but stunt skater Nick Maricich was tops with Thursday's young opening night crowd of 8,000. As featured soloist, Fratianne executed her routines with grace, and drew the well-deserved admiration of parents in the crowd. Kids, however, aren't into grace. They want thrills and excitement, which is where Maricich comes in.[
Donna Caponi
Linda Fratianne
Diana Taurasi
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
