Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Biology 209: Nutritional Science: Databases and Articles

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select CINAHL or one of the databases listed below to locate research on various nutrition topics.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

What is Peer Reviewed?

Scholarly or peer-reviewed journals include articles that have been written by specialists in the field and reviewed by specialists before they are accepted for publication.

Popular magazines such as Time or newspapers such as The New York Times have valid information but are NOT peer-reviewed.

You can limit your search to a peer-reviewed article when you are using a Library database such as  Health Source Nursing or CINAHL.

 

Science and Health Databases

If you need an article on a specific topic, use one of these databases. Search by subject or keywords.

Be sure to check peer-reviewed or scholarly journal to retrieve only scholarly journal articles.

 

Print, Email, Save

All databases have tools for printing, emailing and saving articles.

Look for the icons on the page.

 

 

No Full Text? What's Next!

Sometimes an article is not available in full text in the database. You may have an abstract (summary) or just a citation. If you cannot find another article, or you feel that this article is best suited for your research, you have a few options.

If you see, "Full Text Finder" click on the link to retrieve the article from another database. 

undefined

The article might be available in our print collections. If the full-text link says the article is available in print, you must fill out a request slip and go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. Once you have the article, you can make a photocopy for your assignment.

If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary loan" option.

By selecting this link you will be able to get this article sent to you through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to sign in with your N# and Portal Password.