Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Civility: DATABASE ARTICLES

This libguide will give you access to information on "civility" and a better understanding as to why it is important for us to treat each other with politeness and respect.

What is a Database?

A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters, magazines, newspapers, education videos, and other information from reliable sources.

Once you've selected the database you want to use, choose the word(s) for your search terms.  If you're not successful at first, don't worry.  Select a different word or words until you achieve success!

On the right is a set of databases that you can choose to begin your research. Keep in mind that you might have to change your search terms when you go from one database to another.

Since the producer of the database has to pay for the data, commercial databases are not available for free. You would have to pay to use them, but our library has paid the subscription fee for you.  Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

 

 

Contact Us for More Help!

 Have a question?

There are many ways to get help!

a small icon Call Us at (516) 572-7408
a small icon Email Us at ask@libanswers.com
Check our FAQS or Ask Us
a small icon Follow Us at #NCCLIBRARY
Chat with Us at ncc.libanswers.com
a small icon Text Us at (516) 537-9398
Visit Us at the Library Information Commons

General Databases: A Good Place to Start

 

We have some databases that provide research for all subjects and are a good starting point for your research. The topic of "Civility" can be found under variety of subject headings, so don't limit yourself to just one database. 

Click on the links below to search these databases.

FINDING A DATABASE

The DATABASES can be found on the libraries' home page 

Once you click on the word "DATABASES" you will see complete list of the databases A -Z.  However, to limit your search you would click on the down arrow in the box labeled  "ALL SUBJECTS".  A list of subjects will appear and you'll pick the one having to do with the topic that you're researching.  

HOW TO SEARCH A DATABASE

 

 ____________________________________________________________

Data in a database is structured into a data record. Each record is made up of several fields. So a recipe database may consist of records of recipe cards each with fields such as title, ingredients, calories, and serving size.

Databases usually offer key word searching so you could search for "chocolate" anywhere in the recipe. Chocolate could be in the title or the ingredients fields.

Databases usually offer field searching so you could limit your search to find "chocolate" only if it is in the ingredients field of a recipe database.

Database often use controlled searching to group records together. For example, a recipe database may use only the subjects of breakfast meal, lunch meal, or dinner meal. That way all the meals for dinner would be grouped together even if some searchers use the word supper instead of dinner.

                                                                          Author: Beverly D. Hills, MSLS

Newspaper Databases

 These databases offer access to local, national and international newspapers.

ARE THERE ANY FREE DATABASES?

Take a look at two examples of databases available for free without having to go through the school's webpage:

WHEN TO USE A DATABASE

Use a database if you need information that is current  - for example,  medical data.   By the time an author writes and publishes a book it could take two years or more (not to mention the amount of time it has been sitting on the shelf).  However,  many commercial databases are updated on a regular basis thereby making the information it contains more up- to- date.  Also consider a database when you're looking for specific information.