| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Human Rights Project at Nassau Community College: Articles, Books & Videos
The Human Rights Project (HRS) promotes an understanding of worldwide genocide and human rights oppression and activism through academic coursework and co-curricular events open to the college and community at large.
Articles
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video collection from producers such as Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, PBS and more.
- LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowContains LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as more than 150 full-text monographs and books.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
- Religion and Philosophy (Gale) This link opens in a new windowDiscover a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.
Books
25+ Human Rights DocumentsCall Number: K3238 .A14 2005ISBN: 971881482062Publication Date: 2005
Approaches to Peace by Call Number: JZ5538 .A67 2018(Hourly reserve)ISBN: 9780190637590Publication Date: 2017-07-12This reader provides a unique interdisciplinary sampling of key articles focusing on the diverse facets of peace and conflict studies. Featuring both classic and contemporary works, this collection introduces students to the foundations of the discipline, as well as the current direction ofpeace studies.
Crimes of War by Call Number: K5301 .C75 2007 Hourly ReserveISBN: 9780393328462Publication Date: 2007-11-17
The History of Human Rights by Call Number: JC571 .I73 2008 Hourly ReserveISBN: 9780520256415Publication Date: 2008-06-02
Poems from Guantánamo by Call Number: PJ7694.E3 P56 2007ISBN: 9781587296062Publication Date: 2007-08-15
eBooks and audiobooks
- We Wish to Inform You That Tomorrow We Will be Killed With Our FamiliesThis audiobook is found in cloudLibrary (see the Library Databases)
- Overcoming SpeechlessnessThis ebook is found in cloudLibrary (see Library Databases).
Videos
Syria Behind the Lines by Call Number: Video DS98.6 .F76 2013 7 Day LoanISBN: 9781608839124Publication Date: 2013- Mugabe and the White African byCall Number: Video DT2891 .M84 2010 7 Day LoanPublication Date: 2010
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
