LibGuides: ENG 103 Writing in the Sciences: Databases

What is a database?

Electronic databases are a collection of data, or information, specially organized for rapid search and retrieval by a computer. NCC's provides several for student and faculty use. Listed here are a few related to the sciences. For a complete listing of NCC's database, click here.

If you are logging in from off-campus, please note that you will need your N# and password.

Library Databases Related to Writing in the Sciences:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Providing content from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories, conference proceedings and more, Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges & research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes more than 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment.
Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Informational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new window
Full text coverage from 1998 to current issues.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Access to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.

Databases are ideal for searching the journal literature because:

They include hundreds of journals, so you search through thousands of articles at once.
Some databases are general or interdisciplinary and provide broad coverage of many topics, while others are subject-specific and cover one field in-depth.
Databases vary in content and may include more than just journal articles; conference proceedings, book chapters, theses, or technical reports may also be covered.
Article databases cover differing periods of time, so check date ranges.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed