| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Nursing 101: Special Features in Databases
Special Features
Many of our databases have special features and content that will help you with your studies.
Click on each tab to learn more!
Special Features in Databases
CINAHL includes evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and images. Create a user login and you can save material in personal folders for later use.
Author is a nurse may be selected as a limiter in the Advanced Search page.
The Nursing Reference Center includes an online library of searchable books in digital format. These include Taber's, Davis's Drug Guide and others shown below.
Click on the Practice Resources tab in the Nursing Resource Center database to access each book.
The database also has information on diseases, skills and procedures, drug information, patient education sheets with diagrams, practice resources and continuing education lessons. As with all EBSCO databases, you may use your personal folders to save information for later use.
STAT!Ref now includes Board Vitals, a bank of test questions to help you prepare for the NCLEX exam.
Go to STAT!Ref, click on Board Vitals and follow the prompts. Once you set up your account, you will be able to access the question bank. You must use your NCC email address.
- BoardVitals This link opens in a new windowBoardVitals helps practitioners prepare for licensing and initial certification exams, maintenance of certification (MOC) requirements, and continuing professional education, covering more than 50 specialty areas and exams. New Users: Click on Create An Account, please note you must use NCC email address when you sign up.
Personal Folder Instructions
Most databases now offer personal accounts. These allow users to save and retrieve articles remotely, save search histories, create alerts, organize favorite articles and share with others.
- EBSCO Personal Folder InstructionsThis website explains how to set up your free, personal folder to save articles in EBSCO databases such as CINAHL.
- Gale/Cengage User Account InstructionsThese instructions explain how to set up your free, personal account in Gale/Cengage databases.
- ScienceDirectThis site provides instructions on setting up alerts, folders, PDF reader and more.
- STAT!refProvides instructions on Favorites, Personalized Profile and more.
- American Journal of NursingThere are instructions on personalizing accounts, browsing, working with images and more.
Print, Email, Save
All databases have tools for printing, emailing and saving articles.
Look for the icons on the page.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
