| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Introduction to Sociology: Streaming Media
Streaming Media at NCC
Nassau Community College now has three streaming sources, Films on Demand, Kanopy, AVON and Swank. The simplest way to access each of these sources is through the Stream a Video tab on our homepage.
Swank Digital Campus provides films for various courses. Films include classics, documentaries and contemporary selections. All films can be viewed both on and off campus. Browse our current selection of films at Swank.
Films On Demand
Films on Demand (FOD) is one of our streaming media database and includes hundreds of videos on sociology.
Browse the Sociology Subject Collection and narrow down, or search by keywords in titles and segments.
Here are some examples of sociology videos in the FOD database.
- NormsThis program provides a general introduction to the concept of norms in society.
- Language and SocietyThis program offers a general introduction to the role language plays in society.
- Social Class: Theories, Stratification, and Mobility - An IntroductionFeaturing interviews with sociologists, this program examines theories of social class and explains the differences between class and stratification. It discusses theories of Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, Saint-Simon, Marx, Durkheim, Weber, Kingley, Moore, and Tumin. The program also considers the concept of social mobility.
- Sociological PerspectivesIntroducing the idea of varying perspectives in sociology, this program discusses the functionalist perspective, explaining manifest and latent function. It discusses the conflict perspective with a look at Marx, feminism, and the work of DuBous. The program also considers the interactionist perspective of Weber, Mead, and Cooley.
Kanopy
Kanopy is another one of our streaming media database and includes hundreds of videos on sociology.
Browse by Subjects for Sociology and narrow down, or search by keywords in titles and segments.
Here are some examples of sociology videos in the Kanopy database.
- The Mask You Live InThis program follows boys and young men as they struggle to stay true to themselves while negotiating America's narrow definition of masculinity.
- Freedom RidersThis program shows the powerful harrowing and ultimately inspirational story of six months in 1961 that changed America forever.
- In Our WaterIn this Oscar nominated documentary, a New Jersey family discovers their well is being poisoned by a landfill while local and state officials assure them their water is safe to drink. A 5-year saga of bureaucratic neglect and court inaction reveals the Kaler's drinking water could have been bottled as paint remover.
- Welfare - The Complexity of America's Welfare SystemWelfare shows the nature and complexity of the welfare system in sequences illustrating the staggering diversity of problems that constitute welfare: housing, unemployment, divorce, medical and psychiatric problems, abandoned and abused children, and the elderly.
Sociology Videos at the NCC Library
These are some of the videos available at the NCC LIbrary. Use SearchALL advanced search to locate more. Limit your search to Audio/Visual or Videos.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
