BUS110- Levine: Finding Company Social Responsibility Information

You can use Google or any other search engine to find information about corporations.  Since a company's webpages are the internet mouthpiece of a corporation, if you visit it directly, it will be primary source material for your project.  Corporations usually have a consumer page (for purchasing goods and services) and an investor page (sometimes called "investor relations"). The investor page is usually where you will find the information related to social responsibility.  

Social responsibility goes by many different names, or is specific to a cause: the environment, a commitment to pay living wages, or any manner of causes the corporation deems important.  It will be considered social responsibility so long as it is for the good of humanity (as opposed to profit or cost cutting measures).

To find an investor page, just Google the name of the corporation (make sure you know the actual name and not the product name and add "Investor information". 

If you cannot find it from there, contact a librarian via chat.  

• The Responsible Shopper

  Evaluates a company's performance in areas of human rights, social justice, environmental sustainability, and more. Company profiles include an "alert" section with news regarding potential infractions, unethical practices, etc., related to the company in question.

• CorporateRegister.com

  A global directory of CSR reports on sustainability and the environment, with over 40,000 reports on over 9,000 companies.

• Corporate Research Project non-profit center that researches and analyzes companies and industries, focusing on corporate accountability.

• Ethical Corporation

  Ethical Corporation is a publisher that provides a magazine, newsletter and special reports on the topic of responsible business practices.

• CSRWire

  CSRwire.com provides news and information on corporate social responsibility. Included in this website is an online directory that provides information on organizations that are working on corporate social responsibility.

• BSR

  Business for Social Responsibility is a global nonprofit organization that provides resources and advisory services to help promote corporate social responsibility. There are BSR research reports in 4 different areas: economic development, environment, governance & accountability, human rights, as well as other services and resources.

• Biz Journals

  The national bizjournals site features local business news from around the nation, updated throughout the day, top business stories from American City's print editions, industry-specific news from more than 40 industries, advice columns, and a full menu of tools to help business owners and operators manage their businesses more successfully. There's also easy navigation to each of the 42 local business sites.

• Business Ethics: A Magazine of Corporate Responsibility

  This website contains several articles on the topic of corporate responsibility.

• Business Ethics: A Manual for Managing a Responsible Business Enterprise in Emerging Market Economies

  The International Trade Administration in the U.S. Department of Commerce maintains this online manual, which includes five chapters and several appendices and worksheets that outline how to develop and implement ethical business practices.

• International Business Ethics Institute

  International Business Ethics Institute is a nonprofit, educational organization that works on increasing the awareness of business ethics issues and information. The website includes a business ethics primer, as well as links to business ethics websites and a business ethics bibliography.

• U.S. Public Interest Research Group (US PIRG)

  Provides information on companies and products, as well as reports on various issue areas.

• globalEDGE

  Contains a list of websites focusing on CSR at a global level.