BUS110- Levine: Using the Business Databases

The Library has many resources for research, the most popular of which are our Databases. Below you will find the ones most recommended for Business Research. 

• Business Insights: Essentials

  Research and compare companies and industries using industry rankings, company profiles, market share data, investment reports, charts, graphs, and more.

• Business Source Complete

  Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business as far back as 1986. Includes financial data, books monographs, major reference works, case studies, industry & market research reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

• Value Line

  ONLY 5 USERS MAY ACCESS THIS DATABASE AT ONE TIME
  Value Line puts you in the driver’s seat with accurate and insightful investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. From the latest data, sophisticated tools and proven ranks to expert analysis and guidance, Value Line gives you the power to evaluate investments with confidence.

• Entrepreneurial Studies Source

  This database offers users full text for entrepreneurship and small business including periodicals, books, case studies, company profiles and videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.

The New York Times is a very good source of business and corporate information. The Library has a New York Times online subscription available to you.  To get your free personalized subscription, go to "N" under Databases A-Z, click on the New York Times and use your NCC email to open an account.  

Once you have opened up an account you can search the NYT by using Google to search your chosen topic followed by the command site: nytimes.com (this works for searching ANY specific website on Google).

Using the Business Source Complete Database

Business Source Complete is a great source for articles about a company or a company profile. 

Select advanced search. 

This will allow you to be specific about the information you need.

Remember- you NEVER use full sentences in the databases. Simply type the key terms, such as: the company's name and social responsibility.

When viewing your results, look at the options on the left side of the page. You should select full text to ensure that you have immediate access to the article. You may also want to narrow down the date range so that you are looking at current information. 

To view the full text of an article, select either HTML full text or PDF full text. You may have an option for both or just one:

Once you open the article, use the tools on the right side of the page to: save, print, email or cite the information.