LibGuides: Local History: Using Databases

Databases

Which Database Should I Use?

The NCC Library has access to many databases with extensive historical information. You may have to use several databases to locate the specific information you need on local history. The databases listed below are recommended for historical research. The descriptions of each database will help you determine the best fit for your research needs.

Newsday This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news from 1985-present.
Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 This link opens in a new window
The Civil War Era (1857-1865).
History Reference Works This link opens in a new window
This database contains information from various reference books: Fifties, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties and Nineties in American; Great Events from History: Modern Scandals, The Middle Ages, Renaissance and The Ancient World; and Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century; Milestone Documents: African American History, American History and World HIstory.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Online scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday	Closed
Sunday	Closed