| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
ART 201: Prof. Guest's Archeology Project: Find Articles & Databases
What is a Database?
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
What are Primary Sources?
A primary source is a document or other sort of evidence written or created during the time under study, or by one of the persons or organizations directly involved in the event. Primary sources offer an inside view of a particular event.
Some types are: original documents (letters, autobiographies, etc.), creative works (art, poetry, etc.), Artifacts (pottery, tools, etc.)
Databases such as ARTstor, History in Context & The Historical New York Times contain primary sources.
Want to learn more about primary vs. secondary sources? Check out this tutorial.
- eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new windoweHRAF Archaeology is an online cross-cultural database containing descriptive information on archaeological traditions of the world and is modeled after eHRAF World Cultures. eHRAF is unique because each archaeological tradition contains a variety of documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been indexed and organized according to HRAF’s comprehensive tradition and subject classification systems: the Outline of Archaeological Traditions (OAT), and the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). These retrieval systems extend search capability well beyond keyword searching thus allowing for precise tradition and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. The eHRAF Archaeology database provides researchers and students access to archaeological materials for comparative studies within and across regions.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowThe eHRAF World Cultures is an online cross-cultural and ethnographic database containing descriptive information on cultures (based on the Outline of World Cultures -OWC) and ethnic groups from around the world. eHRAF is unique because each culture contains a variety of documents (books, articles, and dissertations) that have been subject-indexed at the paragraph level by anthropologists according to HRAF’s comprehensive Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM). This feature extends search capability well beyond keyword searching, allowing for precise culture and subject retrieval, even in a foreign language. As an ethnographic database, eHRAF appeals to many academic disciplines in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, and any other area with an interest in cultural diversity.
- Gale Onefile: World History This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess to collections of art images and associated data for educational use. (Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowOnline scholarly journals covering literature & criticism, history & performing arts, cultural studies, political science.
- Gale Onefile: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowProvides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. Updated daily, this library resource offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work established in the field.
- Harpweek - The Civil War Era: 1857-1865 This link opens in a new windowThe Civil War Era (1857-1865).
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowOver 7,000 streaming videos on a huge range of topics.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video collection from producers such as Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation, PBS and more.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowAs the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
You will find that tracking down information on history & archeology involves trying out a variety of databases. You may want to begin your research by searching the databases for general information on your topic, but eventually you should narrow down your topic in order to find the best results.
For example, you might begin your research by searching for information on a specific discovery- such as Machu Picchu. After you obtain some general information, you should begin looking for more specific information on Machu Picchu- such as who discovered it? Who built Machu Picchu and/or lived there? What type of culture was this? Was any artwork discovered at this site?
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
