| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Physical Therapy/Physical Therapy Assistant: Databases and Articles
Database Tips
What is a Database?
A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Print, Save or Email
All databases have tools for printing, emailing and saving articles.
Look for the icons on the page.
Interlibrary Loan
Sometimes an article is not available in full text in the database. You may have an abstract (summary) or just a citation. If you cannot find another article, or you feel that this article is best suited for your research, you have a few options.
If you see, "Full Text Finder" click on the link to retrieve the article from another database.
The article might be available in our print collections. If the full-text link says the article is available in print, you must fill out a request slip and go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor of the Library. Once you have the article, you can make a photocopy for your assignment.
If the article is not available through the NCC Library, you will see the "Request through Interlibrary loan" option.
By selecting this link you will be able to get this article sent to you through Interlibrary Loan, you will need to sign in with your N# and Portal Password.
- Nassau Community College Interlibrary LoanThis is the interlibrary loan system for the Nassau Community College Library.
Use ILLiad to request materials from other libraries, view your requests, and access electronic articles that you have requested.
Related Databases
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides access to literature in sociology and related fields. Includes abstracts and full-text of journal articles, conference papers, books and dissertations.
Allied Health Databases
Click on the Special Features in Databases tab for more information!
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowThis database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCheck Research articles in the Advanced Search screen.
- Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new windowGale ebooks is a collection of reference eBooks covering many topics.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowMulti-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowContains evidence-based care sheets.
- Internurse This link opens in a new windowInternurse is the UK’s largest collection of peer-reviewed nursing content, and home of the British Journal of Nursing. Internurse covers primary and secondary care settings as well as the whole spectrum of specialist nursing practice including cardiology, neuroscience, mental health, palliative care and wound care.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text is the world’s most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for more than 1,450 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowThe New England Journal of Medicine is the oldest continuously published medical periodical, close to completing its second century of service to the medical community.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowAccess to full text documents, covering diseases & conditions, labs & diagnostics, as well as drug & reference information; it also includes best practices guidelines, continuing education modules, and patient education information.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowStat!Ref is a collection of medical-nursing and allied health ebooks. It includes Board Vitals, a bank of test questions for the NCLEX.
Online Physical Therapy Journals
Some Physical Therapy journals have direct links online. Often, access is limited to a small number of articles or a personal subscription is necessary. Look to see if you can get a student subscription through a professional organization, if necessary.
- Physical Therapy: Journal of the American Physical Therapy AssociationAs the leading international journal for research in physical therapy and related fields, PTJ publishes innovative and highly relevant content for both clinicians and scientists and uses a variety of interactive approaches to communicate that content, with the expressed purpose of improving patient care.
- PT In MotionPublished to meet the needs and interests of APTA members and to promote physical therapy as a vital professional career, PT in Motion provides legislative, health care, human interest, and association news and serves as a forum for discussion of professional issues and ideas in physical therapy practice..
- Journal of Neurologic Physical TherapyJournal of Neurologic Physical Therapy (JNPT) is the official quarterly publication of the Neurology Section of the American Physical Therapy Association. JNPT is the primary peer-reviewed, indexed resource for advancing neurologic physical therapy practice through the dissemination of definitive evidence, translation of clinically relevant knowledge, and integration of theory into education, practice, and research.
- Journal of Geriatric Physical TherapyJournal of Geriatric Physical Therapy is the leading source of clinically applicable evidence for achieving optimal health, wellness, mobility, and physical function across the continuum of health status for the aging adult.
- Journal of Orthopaedic and Sports Physical TherapyThe mission of the Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy is to publish an exemplary, scholarly, peer-reviewed journal for physical therapists and others in the healthcare and research communities to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related best practice.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
