| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Reading 002 Project: MLA Citations
What is MLA?
MLA ( which stands for Modern Language Association) format is a standardized method for giving credit to those whose work you use. It is important to let your readers know where you got your information.
Every research paper or project that uses outside sources must include a list of those sources at the end of the paper. This is called the Works Cited page and should list all sources in proper MLA format alphabetically by the authors' last names.
MLA format has specific forms for each type of resource you use: books, magazine articles, journal articles etc. It even differentiates between online and print materials.
With correct MLA citations, you will never risk committing plagiarism. Plagiarism is considered stealing and could result in failure or worse!
This page has many helpful ways to make your MLA Works Cited page correctly.
If you have questions, speak with a librarian or consult a tutor in the Writing Center.
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 Library UseISBN: 1603292624Publication Date: 2016-04-01
Citation Generators
There are several websites that will create citations for you. You must enter the necessary information in the boxes provided. Be sure to spell all words correctly and capitalize all titles. Below is an example of an excellent citation maker. The link for it is below the image.
KNIGHTCITE IMAGE
Click on either link below!
- Knight Cite from Calvin College LibraryThis website will create a citation for you. Select MLA, then select the type of work you are citing, such as a magazine, journal or book. If you got it from a database, select online and then type in the name of the database.
MLA Citation Help
Are you using another person's ideas or quoting from the original work itself?
- Both are great ways to make your points.
- Both require giving credit to the author.
Use in-text notation after a quote or paraphrase.
List the author and work on your Works Cited page.
Check the MLA handout and the links below.
NCC Guide to MLA Citations (7th Edition)
NCC Guide to MLA Citations (8th Edition)
Citations from the Databases
Most of the databases now provide citations for articles. You must locate the tools box and look for the link to cite or citation tools. This image from Gale databases such as General Onefile/ Academic Onefile shows the link for Cite.
This is the tool box for all EBSCO databases such as Academic Search Complete and Humanities International. Once you click on the Cite link, you will be given all possible citation formats for the article. Select MLA edition. Copy and paste the citation into your works cited page. Be sure to check that titles are capitalized and formats are correct.
If you are using a Proquest database such as Newsday or Historical New York Times, click on the cite link in the tool menu above the article.
Always be sure to select the latest MLA (or the MLA edition required for your assignment) edition version of the citations you are using!
CQ Researcher and CQ Weekly also generate citations for you. Click on the Cite Now! link and then select MLA from the choices.
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
