Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing 105: Medical-Surgical Nursing: Databases and Articles

What is a Database?

database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate critical analysis of the work you are examining.

All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals, and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors. 

Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.

Nursing Journals

Online Nursing Journals

Some nursing journals have direct links online. Often, access is limited to a small number of articles or a personal subscription is necessary. Look to see if you can get a student subscription through a professional organization.

Nursing and Health Databases

If you need an article on a specific topic within a Concept Map, use one of these databases. Search by subject or keywords.

Using Search All

SearchAll is a search tool that allows you to find all the resources available at the Library. That includes books, eBooks, videos, articles, and news.

If an item is not accessible here, you can request an item on Interlibrary Loan


So how does SearchAll work?

Enter your search terms in the box.

Browse the results.

Limit your results to a particular format, such as magazines, journals or books. 
Limit your results to a date range. 

Do an advanced search for more specific results. 

Select the items that suit your needs.

  • Articles may be printed, emailed or saved.
  • Ebooks may be read online or downloaded for later use.
  • Books may be checked out and taken home.