Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing 203: Find the Full-Text Article

Locate a Specific Article from the Citation

Now you have your citation but you need to get the full article!

First, find the name of the journal in your citation.  In this example it is Journal of Social Psychology.

Click on this Journal Search link to find out which database has the full text of your article.

Enter the title of the journal and click the magnifying glass icon. See the example:

undefined

From the list of databases displayed, click on the link to the one that has the date range for the issue you need.

Databases with this journal

 

Next, find the year, volume and issue you need from the list displayed. Your citation will have that information.

 

Once you have the correct issue, you can scroll through the articles, or sort by Author.

 

undefined

 

If your article is only available in print format, go to the Reserve Desk on the first floor.  Fill out the periodical request form and show your NCC ID card. You can make a copy of the article but you cannot take the journal out of the building.

 

 

Not in a Database?

Sometimes an article is not available through our databases. It may be free online, through Google Scholar.

If you find the full-text, print it out. 

If you have to purchase the article, don't!  Use our Interlibrary Loan service to get an article from another library.

Google Scholar Search

Getting Books and Articles from Other Libraries

If our Library does not have a book or article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.

We will borrow the item for you from another library, and notify you when it has arrived. Articles will be sent electronically to your ILLiad account.

 You are responsible for bringing all ILL books back to the NCC Library on or before the due date.

To request an item online, create an ILLiad account and follow the instructions on the ILLiad Login page.

Library Help