| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Autism : Articles/Databases
Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and autism are both general terms for a group of complex disorders of brain development. These disorders are characterized, in varying degrees, by difficulties in social interaction, verbal and nonverbal communication.
What is a Database?
A Database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.
Select one of the databases listed in the middle column to locate these materials.
All of the resources in these databases come from magazines, newspapers, journals and books. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.
Articles from the databases may be printed, saved to a drive or emailed for later use.
Personal Folder Instructions
Most databases now offer personal accounts. These allow users to save and retrieve articles remotely, save search histories, create alerts, organize favorite articles and share with others.
The links below provide information for individual databases.
- EBSCO Folders TutorialThis tutorial explains how to set up your personal EBSCOhost folder.
- CQ Weekly Personal Profile InstructionsTo save your favorite documents, document history, saved searches, and Email alerts you can create a personal profile account. Your account will remain until there is a 24 month period with no activity on this site.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowThis is the definitive research tool for nursing and allied health professionals. With CINAHL Complete, users get fast and easy full-text access to top journals, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and more. CINAHL Complete provides broad content coverage including 50 nursing specialties, speech and language pathology, nutrition, general health and medicine and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowThis is a web based digital video delivery service that allows you to view over 50,000 streaming videos on a variety of topics.
- General OneFile This link opens in a new windowThe comprehensive database offers news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Many articles are available in full-text. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980-to present.
- Health and Medicine This link opens in a new windowInformational material on medicine, nutrition, fitness, pregnancy, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, etc.
- JAMA - Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage from 1998 to current issues.
- MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowFull-Text coverage for more than 1,470 medical journals dating back to 1965.
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new windowThe journal contains landmark research in all areas of medicine. Charts, graph and illustrations are included. Search current issue or past issues dating back to 1993.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes nearly 550 full text journals, including peer-reviewed titles covering topics such as emotional &behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & mental processes, updated daily.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowAccess to scientific, technical and medical research in over 1,200 journals covering all fields of science.
Autism Child
Subject Guide
Articles
- Autism: An Introduction to Behavioural Therapy Models Used for Autism and Nursing the Person with Autism in the Primary Care SettingIn Singapore the incidence of autism is on the rise as parents are becoming more aware of the early signs of autism and seek healthcare programmes to ensure the quality of life for their child is optimised. Two such programmes, Applied Behaviour Analysis and Floortime approach have proven successful in alleviating some of the behavioural and social skills problems associated with autism.
- Autism and the Technical MindThe author discusses research into the rate of autistic children born to parents with technical jobs such as engineering.
- Comparison of Scores on the Checklist for Autism Spectrum Disorder, Childhood Autism Rating Scale, and Gilliam Asperger’s Disorder Scale for Children with Low Functioning Autism, High Functioning Autism, Asperger’s Disorder, ADHD, and...Reliability and validity for three autism instruments were compared for 190 children with low functioning autism (LFA), 190 children with high functioning autism or Asperger’s disorder (HFA), 76 children with attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), and 64 typical children.
- What We Know Right Now about AutismThe article focuses on autism awareness. According to Susan Hyman chair of the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), environmental factors and host of genes are involved in the development of autism. It states that babies between 6-12 months with autism are less likely to vocalize and smile. Doctor Geraldine Dawson mentions that after a child screens positive, he must be brought to a specialist for evaluation..
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
