| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
AFR 112/DAN 125: Prof. Bruno's Classes: MLA Citations (8th Edition)
Useful Print Books for help with MLA 8
MLA Handbook by
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook. Works are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. Previous editions of the MLA Handbook provided separate instructions for each format, and additional instructions were required for new formats. In this groundbreaking new edition of its best-selling handbook, the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source. Shorter and redesigned for easy use, the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook guides writers through the principles behind evaluating sources for their research. It then shows them how to cite sources in their writing and create useful entries for the works-cited list. More than just a new edition, this is a new MLA style.
Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2016 Library UseISBN: 1603292624Publication Date: 2016-04-01
A Pocket Style Manual, 2016 MLA Update Edition by
THIS TITLE HAS BEEN UPDATED TO REFLECT THE 2016 MLA UPDATES! Our editorial team has updated this text based on content from The MLA Handbook, 8th Edition. Browse our catalog or contact your representative for a full listing of updated titles and packages, or to request a custom ISBN.Your students need clear, complete answers to their questions about research, writing, and grammar—and they often need them at a moment’s notice. As their teacher, you are their greatest resource, but you can’t be available 24/7. For help with work in class and at home and especially for questions at odd hours, students can turn to A Pocket Style Manual. The thoughtfully revised seventh edition makes it even easier for students to effectively and independently address their writing and research challenges. With 325 documentation models in four styles and coverage of drafting thesis statements, writing correctly and effectively, finding and evaluating sources, and writing research papers, A Pocket Style Manual supports writers across the disciplines. Our newest set of online materials, LaunchPad Solo, provides all the key tools and course-specific content that you need to teach your class. The LaunchPad Solo for A Pocket Style Manual includes exercises, sample student writing, and LearningCurve game-like adaptive quizzing. To package LaunchPad Solo free with A Pocket Style Manual, use ISBN 978-1-319-01282-3.
Call Number: Ref. PE1408 .H26 2016 Library UseISBN: 1319083528Publication Date: 2016-07-05
Rules for Writers by
Beginning college writers come from a wide range of backgrounds and communities. And for many, academic reading and writing skills are ones they must learn and practice. Enter Rules for Writers. It's an easy-to-use, comprehensive composition tool with the quality you expect from authors you trust. It empowers students by teaching them how to meet new expectations and by giving them the practice that builds confidence. With trusted advice for writing well, reading critically, and working with sources, Rules for Writers now has even more help for underprepared and inexperienced writers--sentence guides that foster an academic voice, tips for spotting fake news and misleading sources, more on paraphrasing, and fifteen new "how-to" pages that offer practical help for writing challenges. It's an affordable solution with significant value, especially when paired with LaunchPad Solo for Hacker Handbooks, an innovative practice solution available at no additional cost when package with a new text.
Call Number: Ref. PE1408 .H277 2019ISBN: 9781319057428Publication Date: 2018-10-01
In-Text Citations in the MLA 8th Edition
In-Text Citations in MLA 8th Edition
In-Text citations are brief citations found after a direct quote or a paraphrase. They are located in the body of your work.
In-Text citations are placed in parentheses, and have two components
- The first word found in the full citation on the Works Cited page (usually the last name of the author)
- The location of the direct quote or paraphrase (usually a page number)
In-Text citations should be placed directly after the direct quote or paraphrase, or in a place that is a natural pause and does not cause the reader to become distracted while reading the body of your work.
Example:
In order to prevent starvation, Watney knew exactly what he needed to do. “My best bet for making calories is potatoes” (Weir 17).
When using the author’s name in the sentence, only include the page number in the parentheses.
Example:
Seuss’s use of words such as, “lurk” and “dank” help students understand the type of character that the Once-ler is (6).
MLA 8: The Basics
There is more information available today, in more formats, than ever before, so the way we cite sources needs to evolve to keep pace. MLA 8 was designed to simplify the process, helping writers accurately and intuitively cite sources more easily, requiring that every source type follow the same format. This means that books, websites, periodicals, videos, photographs, and all other types of sources now use this same standard format.
MLA 8 requires researchers to locate the same “core elements” from their sources and place them in a standard order in order to create their citations.
The “Core Elements” of an MLA 8 citation, along with their corresponding punctuation marks, include the following (in this order):
- Authors.
- Title of the source.
- Title of container,
- Other contributors,
- Version,
- Numbers,
- Publisher,
- Publication date,
- Location.
The appropriate punctuation mark will follow each core element, unless it is the final piece. In this case, the punctuation mark would be a period.
Here’s how an actual source looks when cited using MLA 8:
Goodwin, Doris. Team of Rivals: the Political Genius of Abraham
Lincoln. Simon & Shuster, 2012.
- OWL Purdue: MLA 8Creating a Works Cited list using the eighth edition
- MLA 8 Videos from OWL PurdueThe vidcasts in this playlist discuss MLA formatting and style.
- MLA Style Sheet for the 8th EditionNCC's short guide for help with the 8th edition of MLA
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
