| Monday - Thursday | 7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. | |
| Friday | 7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. | |
| Saturday | 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. |
|
| Sunday | Closed | |
Shakespeare Saved My Life (Common Text 2017-2018)
FYE Common Text for 2017-2018
Christine Faraday
Contact:
A. Holly Patterson Library
Nassau Community College
1 Education Drive
Garden City, NY 11530
Christine.Faraday@ncc.edu
Website
Nassau Community College
1 Education Drive
Garden City, NY 11530
Christine.Faraday@ncc.edu
Subjects: ENGLISH, NURSING & ALLIED HEALTH
Getting Books & Articles From Other Libraries
If our Library does not have a book or article you need, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. We will borrow the item for you from another library, and notify you when it has arrived. Articles will be sent electronically to your ILLiad account. You are responsible for bringing all ILL books back to the NCC Library on or before the due date. To request an item online, create an ILLiad account and follow the instructions on the ILLiad Login page.
Looking for Pro/Con Information or Current Events?
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowComprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news.
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
- Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowCovers social issues, such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, Terrorism and more.
- Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new windowA full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue, such as: cloning, immigration, aids.
Looking for Literary Resources?
- Bloom's Literary Reference This link opens in a new windowThis resource contains more than 20,000 critical essays from over 500 literary journals and 2,300 scholarly and critical books, including 700 titles published by Bloom's Literary Criticism and Facts On File. Also included in the database: hundreds of streaming videos and more than 13,000 biographies, 45,000 character entries, and 5,000 synopses of literary works.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowDictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
- Gale Literature (formerly Literary Sources) This link opens in a new windowSearch Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online and Twayne's Author Series, Scribner Writer Series and Lit Finder through this one interface.
- Literature Criticism (formerly Literature Criticism Online) This link opens in a new windowThese online literature criticism reference books will provide criticism of books, poetry and short stories. These criticisms have been gathered from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowIncludes criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews and explications, Web sites, periodical articles, compare and contrast pages, full-text author's works, and reading lists.
- MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new windowDefinitive online source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, brief plot summaries and information on over 1,500 notable authors.
Looking for info on William Shakespeare?
Try these resources:
The Truth about William Shakespeare (eBook) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780748646661Publication Date: 2012-03-07A polemical attack on the ways recent Shakespeare biographers have disguised their lack of information. How can biographies of Shakespeare continue to appear when so little is known about him? And when what is known has been in the public domain for so long? In the past decade, the majority of these biographies have been published by distinguished Shakespeareans - shouldn't they know better? To solvethis puzzle, David Ellis looks at the methods that Shakespeare's biographers have used to hide their lack of knowledge. At the same time, by exploring efforts to write a life of Shakespeare along traditional lines, it asks what kind of animal 'biography' really is and how it should bewritten.
- William Shakespeare (Biographical Article)The English playwright, poet, and actor William Shakespeare (1564-1616) is generally acknowledged to be the greatest of English writers and one of the most extraordinary creators in human history.
- William Shakespeare: A Concise Biography (45 Minute Streaming Video)This introduction to William Shakespeare's life and works from the Famous Authors series begins at the author's childhood home in Stratford and tours the institutions of the town and country that would have been part of Shakespeare's life. The film follows the 23-year-old writer to London, providing a picture of the city in Elizabethan and Jacobean England when Shakespeare went to make his success in the theater.
- Shakespeare CenterPart of the Bloom's Literature database, this innovative new student resource provides an in-depth, multimedia guide to all of William Shakespeare's plays and poems, including a comprehensive overview of every play, performance videos, an extensive library of criticism from the sixteenth century to the present, research and writing advice, and much more, along with a library of material covering Shakespeare's life and times, his contemporaries, his stage, his language, and many other related topics.
A. Holly Patterson Library
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
One Education Drive
Garden City, New York 11530
Phone: 516.572.7401
