LibGuides: ENG 101: Prof. Payne's Classes: Step 2: Focused Research

Using Databases

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Each database listed below will provide full-text articles from magazines and/or scholarly journals related to education.

All of the resources in these databases come from reliable publications. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.

All articles may be printed, emailed or saved on a flash drive.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers scholarly research and information to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. As the complete source of education scholarship, Education Source covers all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to education literature and resources.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage for national and international newspapers, television and radio news transcripts, videos and podcasts.
Gale OneFile: News (formerly Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
This full-text newspaper resource provides access to more than 1,100 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Which Article is Best?

Once you have done your search, select the best articles.
Is the article...

Too general? (It must cover the narrower topic!)
Too short? (It should be at least 2 pages or 500 words.)
Informative? (It must have facts to support your thesis.)
Recent?
Well-documented?

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed