LibGuides: ENG 101: Prof. Payne's Classes: Step 2: Focused Research

Using Databases

A database is a collection of articles, book chapters and other information from reliable sources.

Each database listed below will provide full-text articles from magazines and/or scholarly journals realted to the environment and agriculture.

All of the resources in these databases come from reliable publications. Although they are delivered through the Internet, they are not considered "Internet Sources" by your professors.

All articles may be printed, emailed or saved on a flash drive.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, monographs, conference proceedings and government documents. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion, & theology and more.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE is a resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental law, urban planning and more.

Databases A-Z
This is the link to all of our databases, listed alphabetically. If you cannot find an article in one the the databases above, try another one from the list that best relates to your topic.

Which Article is Best?

Once you have done your search, select the best articles.
Is the article...

Too general? (It must cover the narrower topic!)
Too short? (It should be at least 2 pages or 500 words.)
Informative? (It must have facts to support your thesis.)
Recent?
Well-documented?

Library Hours (Click for Complete Hours)
Monday - Thursday	7:45 a.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Friday	7:45 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Saturday	10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday	Closed