Callings: the Purpose and Passion of Work (Common Text 2020-2021)

In today's challenging job-market, the time-tested advice of What Color Is Your Parachute?is needed more than ever. Recent grads facing a shifting economic landscape, workers laid off mid-career, and people searching for an inspiring work-life change all look to career guru Richard N. Bolles for support, encouragement, and advice on which job-hunt strategies work--and which don't. This revised edition combines classic elements like the famed Flower Exercise with updated tips on social media and search tactics. Bolles demystifies the entire job-search process, from writing resumes to interviewing to networking, expertly guiding job-hunters toward their dream job.

The world of work has changed. People in previous generations tended to pick one professional path and stick to it. Switching companies every few years wasn't the norm, and changing careers was even rarer. Today's career trajectories aren't so scripted and linear. Technology has given rise to new positions that never before existed, which means we are choosing from a much broader set of career options--and have even more opportunities to find work that lights us up. However, we don't discover and apply for jobs the same way anymore, and employers don't find applicants the way they used to. Isn't it about time we had a playbook for navigating it all? Kathryn Minshew and Alexandra Cavoulacos, founders of the popular career website TheMuse.com, offer the definitive guide to the modern workplace. Through quick exercises and structured tips, you will learn:   · The New Rules for finding the right path: Sift through, and narrow today's ever-growing menu of job and career options, using the simple step-by-step Muse Method. · The New Rules for landing the perfect job: Build your personal brand, and communicate exactly how you can contribute and why your experience is valuable in a way that is sure to get the attention of your dream employer. Then ace every step of the interview process, from getting a foot in the door to negotiating your offer. · The New Rules for growing and advancing in your career: Mastering first impressions, the art of communication, networking, managing up and other "soft" skills - and make it obvious that whatever level you're at, you're ready to get ahead.    Whether you are starting out in your career, looking to advance, navigating a mid-career shift, or anywhere in between, this is the book you need to thrive in the New World of Work.

More than twelve million immigrants, many of them children, passed through Ellis Island's gates between 1892 and 1954. Children also came through the "Guardian of the Western Gate," the detention center on Angel Island in California that was designed to keep Chinese immigrants out of the United States. Based on the oral histories of fifty children who came to the United States before 1950, this book chronicles their American odyssey against the backdrop of World Wars I and II, the rise and fall of Hitler's Third Reich, and the hardships of the Great Depression. Ranging in age from four to sixteen years old, the children hailed from Northern, Central, Eastern, and Southern Europe; the Middle East; and China. Across ethnic lines, the child immigrants' life stories tell a remarkable tale of human resilience. The sources of family and community support that they relied on, their educational aims and accomplishments, their hard work, and their optimism about the future are just as crucial today for the new immigrants of the twenty-first century. These personal narratives offer unique perspectives on the psychological experience of being an immigrant child and its impact on later development and well-being. They chronicle the joys and sorrows, the aspirations and achievements, and the challenges that these small strangers faced while becoming grown citizens.

Acknowledgments Introduction I. Memory, History, and Cultural Authority Headnotes 1. Oral History and Hard Times: A Review Essay 2. The Memory of History 3. American History and the Structures of Collective Memory: A Modest Exercise in Empirical Iconography II. Interpretive Authority in Oral History Headnotes 4. Oral History and the Presentation of Class Consciousness: The New York Times v. The Buffalo Unemployed 5. Preparing Interview Transcripts for Documentary Publication: A Line-by-Line Illustration of the Editing Process 6. Presenting and Receiving Oral History across Cultural Space: A Note on Responses of Chinese Students to the Documentary Trilogy One Village in China 7. Oral History, Documentary, and the Mystification of Power: A Critique of Vietnam: A Television History III. A Shared Authority: Scholarship, Audience, and Public Presentation Headnotes 8. Quality in History Programs: From Celebration to Exploration of Values 9. Town Into City: A Reconsideration on the Occasion of Springfield's 350th Anniversary, 1636-1986 10. "Get the Picutre?": A Review Essay 11. Audience Expectations as Resource and Challenge: Ellis Island as a Case Study 12. Urban Public History in Celebratory Contexts: The Example of the "Philadelphia's Moving Past" Project 13. The Presentation of Urban History in Big City Museums Notes

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance--now in its 17th edition--remains the most comprehensive career reference in print. This unparalleled resource has been expanded to six volumes and fully revised to contain the most accurate and current career information available. In Six Volumes and Thousands of Pages of Information! The six-volume Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 17th Edition is an essential resource for public, college, high school, and junior high school libraries; career centers; guidance offices; and other agencies involved with career exploration and planning. Each article has been thoroughly revised and updated, and many new articles have been added. Comprehensive career information, sidebars, and user-friendly features, including the Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, provide a clear picture of what it takes to launch a successful career. Called out by graphic icons are the top fastest-growing careers, the highest-paying jobs, and the top careers that experts predict will add the greatest number of positions. Extensive Online References and Sidebars More than 4,000 websites are listed in the career field and profession articles and refer users to professional associations, government agencies, and other organizations. More than 1,000 sidebars ranging from profiles of industry movers and shakers to glossaries of industry jargon to fast-fact industry statistics are also included. Designed to hold students' attention and relay information effectively, this edition of Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance is the ideal starting place for career research. This edition features: Comprehensive overviews of 140 industries and career fields The latest information on job duties, salaries, education requirements, and employment trends for more than 980 professions Sidebars providing additional reading on industry issues and history, useful websites, industry jargon, and much more More than 800 photographs of people at work Career articles indexed to the O*NETSOC and Canada's National Occupational Classification (NOC) systems Career Guidance section in Volume 1, providing information on interviewing, job hunting, networking, writing r#65533;sum#65533;s, and more A comprehensive job title index in each volume, plus additional indexes in Volume 1 Extensive online references Appendixes of information and resources for finding apprenticeships and internships and for people with disabilities.

Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Updated and revised with the latest data in the field, Principles and Practice of Sport Management, Sixth Edition provides students with the foundation they need to prepare for a variety of sport management careers. Intended for use in introductory sport management courses at the undergraduate level, the focus of the Sixth Edition is to provide an overview of the sport industry and cover basic fundamental knowledge and skill sets of the sport manager, as well as to provide information on sport industry segments for potential employment and career opportunities.

Style Wise: A Practical Guide to Becoming a Fashion Stylist is an essential step-by-step guide and reference tool for anyone interested or involved in professional styling. The book paints a realistic picture of the day-to-day activities of professional stylists and provides aspiring stylists with the tools and information needed to begin building a portfolio. Topics covered include photo shoots, film shoots, fashion shows, special events, and other areas such as image management and food, prop, and set styling. Burns-Tran includes charts of fashion icons, history, terms, and other sources of inspiration from classic films to street culture. The book also provides references to helpful apps, websites, and other resources for portfolio building, branding, networking, and maintaining a freelance or salaried career. New to this Edition - New coverage of social media and technological marketing avenues for stylists - More emphasis on prop styling and styling for home collections - New quotes, tips and interviews with professional stylists - New section on the language of fashion to improve professional communications Style Wise STUDIO ~ Study smarter with self-quizzes featuring scored results and personalized study tips ~ Review concepts with flashcards of terms and definitions and image identification ~ Access samples of documents, forms and templates for all stages of planning a photo shoot including a call sheet form, supply checklist, planning calendars and more PLEASE NOTE: Purchasing or renting this ISBN does not include access to the STUDIO resources that accompany this text. To receive free access to the STUDIO content with new copies of this book, please refer to the book + STUDIO access card bundle ISBN 9781501323836.

An accessible and timely guide to increasing female presence and leadership in tech companies Tech giants like Apple and Google are among the fastest growing companies in the world, leading innovations in design and development. The industry continues to see rapid growth, employing millions of people: in the US it is at the epicenter of the American economy. So why is it that only 5% of senior executives in the tech industry are female? Underrepresentation of women on boards of directors, in the C-suite, and as senior managers remains pervasive in this industry. As tech companies are plagued with high-profile claims of harassment and discrimination, and salary discrepancies for comparable work, one asks what prevents women from reaching management roles, and, more importantly, what can be done to fix it? The Future of Tech is Female considers the paradoxes involved in women's ascent to leadership roles, suggesting industry-wide solutions to combat gender inequality. Drawing upon 15 years of experience in the field, Douglas M. Branson traces the history of women in the information technology industry in order to identify solutions for the issues facing women today. Branson explores a variety of solutions such as mandatory quota laws for female employment, pledge programs, and limitations on the H1-B VISA program, and grapples with the challenges facing women in IT from a range of perspectives. Branson unpacks the plethora of reasons women should hold leadership roles, both in and out of this industry, concluding with a call to reform attitudes toward women in one particular IT branch, the video and computer gaming field, a gateway to many STEM futures. An invaluable resource for anyone invested in gender equality in corporate governance, The Future of Tech is Female lays out the first steps toward a more diverse future for women in tech leadership